Board of Directors


 Board Nov 2017 





Non-Executive Chairman

Appointed: July 1999

Rui de Sousa has approximately 35 years’ experience in the energy sector. He was formerly a director of Gazprombank-Invest (Lebanon) SAL, the Chairman of Carbon Resource Management Ltd. and the President of Quantic Mining. Rui is currently a director of Quantic Limited and Chairman of Blackdown Resources.



President and Chief Executive Officer

Appointed: April 1997

Ed Story was one of the founding directors of SOCO International plc and serves as President and Chief Executive Officer. Under his leadership, SOCO acquired its principal assets in Vietnam and, by building strong relationships with its partners, has progressed the assets from initial exploration through to being one of the largest producing fields in Vietnam.

Ed has over 45 years’ experience in the oil and gas industry, beginning with Exxon Corporation, where he held various positions including seven years resident in the Far East. He was formerly the Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of The Superior Oil Company, a co-founder and Vice Chairman of Conquest Exploration Company and a co-founder and President of Snyder Oil Corporation’s international subsidiary, which merged its controlled holdings into Cairn Energy, thereby creating the leading South Asian oil and gas company in the UK Independent sector. Ed was a non-executive director of Cairn Energy PLC until 2008 and Cairn India Limited until 2017. Ed is currently a non-executive director of Vedanta Resources Plc.



Managing Director and Chief Financial Officer

Appointed: November 2017

Jann Brown previously served as Managing Director and Chief Financial Officer of Cairn Energy PLC and is a Past President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland.

She currently serves as a Non-Executive Director and Chair of the Audit Committee of both John Wood Group PLC and of Troy Income and Growth Trust plc.



Managing Director

Appointed: November 2017

Dr Mike Watts was formerly the Deputy Chief Executive of Cairn Energy PLC and the Chief Executive of Holland Sea Search Holding NV.

Dr Watts also served as a Non-Executive Director of SOCO between August 2009 and January 2017 and was Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee from 2014.



Non-Executive Deputy Chairman and Senior Independent Director

Appointed: December 2013

Rob Gray has been an advisor to the natural resources sector for more than 30 years. Rob qualified as a solicitor in 1981 at Allen & Overy and then went on to help establish James Capel & Co. Petroleum Services, a successful advisory and Mergers & Acquisitions practice. Rob’s experience includes thirteen years at Deutsche Bank where he was latterly a Senior Advisor having been Chairman of UK Investment Banking for five years and formerly Global Head of Natural Resources. Rob was previously a Director and Head of the Natural Resource Group at Robert Fleming & Co. Ltd. for four years, a group which he established. Between 2000 and 2010, Rob was an Advisory Board Member for Heerema Marine Contractors. Rob is also one of a number of industry advisors to Bluewater Energy. Rob was a co-founder of RegEnersys, a natural resources investment entity and is currently the principal of ReVysion LLP.



Non-Executive Director

Appointed: July 1999

Olivier Barbaroux has over 25 years’ experience in the energy and utilities sector. He was the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Dalkia and a member of the Executive Committee of Veolia Environment until 2011. Formerly, he was the Managing Director of Compagnie Générale des Eaux, President and Chief Operating Officer of Vivendi Water S.A., the Head of the Energy Sector of Paribas and the Chief Executive Officer of the oil and gas production and exploration company Coparex International.



Non-Executive Director

Appointed: June 2009

Ambassador António Monteiro has over 45 years of experience with the Portuguese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, including as Foreign Minister of Portugal, and with international organisations, including as UN High Representative for Elections in Côte d’Ivoire and as a member of the UN Secretary-General’s Panel on the Referenda in the Sudan. He was formerly the Ambassador of Portugal to France and the Permanent Representative of Portugal to the United Nations, where posts included being President of the Security Council and of the Security Council’s Committee established by Resolution 661 (1990). António is currently also Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Portuguese Bank Millenium BCP (Banco Comercial Português), a nonexecutive member of the Board of the Angolan Bank BPA (Banco Privado Atlântico), a nonexecutive member of the Board of the Spanish bank Sabadell, and Chairman of the Advisory Council of Gulbenkian’s Foundation Program for Development Assistance.



Non-Executive Director

Appointed: December 2001

Ettore Contini was formerly a director of Energia E Servize SpA and an asset manager in the private banking division of Banca del Gottardo. Ettore is currently also a director of Eurowatt-Commerce.


SOCO is aware of attempts to impersonate the company on social media. SOCO does not use Twitter or have a Facebook page.